Home > Wedding > First Dance

First Dance

Ok everyone. I admit it. We cheated.

We went three months after the actual wedding without dancing and considered saving our “first dance” for the reception…but I gave in and finally asked Charles to dance with me at a wedding in August. It just seemed wrong to not dance with my own husband!

Choosing a song for our “first dance” (or third if we want to be honest) was probably one of the hardest things we did. I had a full list of possible songs in mind…all of which were struck down by Charles as being too “top 40” or too overused.

He would hear random songs when we were in the car together and suggest them…but I didn’t really want to open our reception with Flock of Seagulls or anything similar.

It probably wasn’t until maybe two weeks before the wedding that we finally decided on a song (with lots of help from our best man, Gavin).

He suggested Ben Harper’s Beloved One, and as soon as I heard the lyrics, I knew it was just perfect for us:

We have both been here before
Knockin’ upon love’s door
Begging for someone to let us in
Knowing this we can agree to keep each other company
Never to go down that road again

My beloved one
My beloved one

Your eyes shine through me
You are so divine to me
Your heart has a home in mine
We won’t have to say a word
With a touch all shall be heard
When I search my heart it’s you I find

My beloved one
My beloved one
My beloved one

You were meant for me
I believe you were sent to me
From a dream straight into my arms
Hold your body close to me
You mean most to me
We will keep each other safe from harm

My beloved one
My beloved one
My beloved one
My beloved one

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

