Home > Wedding > Miss Mary is a Mrs!

Miss Mary is a Mrs!

Yes folks. Part of the reason for my absenteeism over the last couple of months has been that I just couldn’t bare to blog without sharing the exciting news that Charles and I decided to get married early.

We found out earlier this year that Charles would have to move out of his house earlier than we planned. It didn’t make any sense for him to rent another place for the summer, but at the same time, we’d planned all along to get married before he moved into my (now our!) house.

I asked him what he thought of getting married early, and he gave the perfect response.

“Whatever will make you happy.”

In February, we finished meeting with the priest to complete the church-related marriage prep. As we wrapped up and the priest checked his notes, he commented on how long our engagement seemed and to let him know if we wanted to get married any earlier.

Little did he know we’d take him up on this offer!

So with about 30 of our very closest friends and family in the pews, we married on Memorial day at my local church with the priest who did our marriage prep.

In many ways, it was a relief!

I didn’t have to worry about being the center of 500 people’s attention during the ceremony.

We didn’t have to worry about vendors showing up for the huge party afterward.

We made it to our honeymoon suite by 5 p.m. and weren’t nearly as tired as we’d have been had we had a giant party afterward. We were able to enjoy a quiet dinner together and reflect on our day instead of just passing out from exhaustion.

We were able to talk to and thank each and every one of the 30ish guests who shared in that day with us.

And perhaps most of all, instead of feeling a little disappointed that the fun is all over, we still have a huge party in September to look forward to! And I get to wear my dress twice!

I will never know how people manage to elope without telling anyone. It was SO hard not to mention my wedding on Facebook or blog about my feelings in those last few days leading up to it.

But I couldn’t be more sure that the early wedding was the right decision for both of us.

Charles apologized to me on Friday. He said if he’d known marriage would make him this happy, we’d have done it years ago!

Categories: Wedding Tags: , ,
  1. June 4, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    Mary, you are brilliant. Simply brilliant! What a wonderful decision for the both of you. There are many reasons this is just perfect, but I have to say that getting to wear your wedding dress twice is right up near the top! Much love and congratulations!!!

    • June 4, 2012 at 5:11 pm

      Being able to wear the dress twice makes me feel like I got 50% off of it! I can’t wait to wear it again, and can’t imagine only getting to wear it once.

  2. Jeannine
    June 4, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    Congratulations, cousin! Wearing the dress twice is ALWAYS an excellent choice!!

    Looking ahead to September — are you worried about being the center of 500 people’s attention during the party? 🙂

    • June 5, 2012 at 10:23 am

      I figure there’s less chance that they’ll/you’ll ALL be staring at me at the exact same time, so no 🙂 I’m just ready for an AMAZING party!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

