Home > Life Lessons > 10 Years ago…

10 Years ago…

ImageTen years ago…I wasn’t just preparing for “commencement” (as I am today)…I was preparing for MY commencement.

I had no idea what the future held.

I didn’t have a career…I didn’t even know what I wanted that career to be.

At graduation, I met my family and my two small nephews. Who knew that 10 years later I’d be an aunt to 10.

Who knew that 10 years later I’d be back in exactly the same place.

Each year I find commencement bittersweet. Bitter, because it’s so much work! But I see the excitement on the faces of the graduates and remember the excitement I had myself.

I might not have realized at the time how lucky I was to be graduating on the East Steps of the biggest church in the western hemisphere, but I have no idea where I’d be today had anything been different.

Categories: Life Lessons Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

