Home > Wedding > Saying Yes to the Dress

Saying Yes to the Dress

Honestly, I have not dreamed my entire life about going wedding dress shopping. I’m not exactly a frilly/blingy girl. I’ve never exactly been perfectly happy with my body, so dressing it, meh. Not the most exciting thing.

But going into it with an open mind, I have to admit that dress shopping wasn’t so bad, and was even a little fun.

I never imagined I’d find my dress the first time I went out, but the wedding dress seems to be a lot like the men I’ve dated. I might think I’ve found the one…until another one comes alone that flatters me just a little bit more. And when I REALLY found the one, I knew it. I tried to deny it and come up with excuses to not love it, but it was the one.

*Note: Because I know Charles reads the blog sometimes, the actual dress chosen will not be pictured. But I thought I’d share some of the fun we had along the way.

So, the things I learned…

1. If you can, find stores that carry dresses in your size or larger. I think this is what made me most comfortable because I didn’t have to worry about not knowing how things would look on me.

2. This is not the day to wear sexy underthings. You’ll hardly spend a second alone, so go with your Granniest of panties (or be totally safe and wear spanx. It’ll help the dresses slide on easier too)

3. Don’t waste your time hitting the pedestal if you know you hate the dress.

4. Don’t become too obsessed over tiny details. You might think you want lace (I did) and not end up liking it. You might really want sleeves (I did) and find something strapless that is much more flattering.

5. If you don’t see all the details you like, don’t be afraid to ask. Seamstresses can work some magic.

6. You do not HAVE to wear a bridal bra. You know those corsety things that suck in your stomach and push up your boobs? One consultant talked me into trying one on. I nearly chocked on my cleavage. I looked ridiculous. You CAN wear a normal strapless bra and a good seamstress will even sew it into your dress so you don’t have to worry about it falling down.

7. Don’t take yourself too seriously. If your sister-in-law picks a dress with a giant bustle, try it on for fun. If you shop with a totally non-frilly bridesmaid, make her wear the veil.

8. Don’t expect the day to be all about being a perfect lady. You haven’t experienced wedding dress shopping until you’ve adjusted all your underthings in front of another person, and until they request for you to spread your legs wider so they can shove tulle between your legs so you can see what it looks like not poofy.

9. Embrace the tulle. Even if you don’t want a poofy dress, you just have to experience what it feels like to be one of those gypsy brides.

10. Twirl. You’ll want to know how your dress will spin when you dance.

11. Speaking of dancing, consider the weight of your dress and how hot it gets under there. If I wore a gown for 5 minutes and broke a sweat, I might not want to wear it for 8 or 10 hours!

12. Take people with you whose opinions you really value. I took my Mom and sister-in-law on the first trip, but I didn’t get the excitement out of them I needed to seal the deal. I knew if it was right my BFF from high school would bounce up and down and clap her hands and say “EEEEEE!” So I took her with me on trip number two.

In the end, just be honest with you. I think you’ll love the dress that’s the most “you.” The dress I chose isn’t (in my opinion) necessarily the dress that looked the most amazing on me, but it is the one that is the most “me.” It’s the perfect balance of flattery, style, and simplicity.

And I can’t wait until I can wear it as Charles and I start our lives together!

  1. Angie
    December 13, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Wow… I hope no pre-teens read this and get their dreams popped about that perfect wedding dress and what it means to shop for it… It is nice to see how “real” the process is, though. And I liked the pictures of the ones that didn’t make the cut. šŸ™‚

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    December 13, 2011 at 7:10 pm

    i have always thought of you as our ‘mary beautiful’ – on your wedding day with your handsome groom – you’ll just be more so, m.b.!

  3. December 14, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    You look amazing in all those dresses! And they aren’t even the one you got! Great list, too!

  1. June 5, 2012 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

