Home > Wedding > Whose Idea was it Anyway?

Whose Idea was it Anyway?

So, back to bridesmaid dresses…

In my freecycle ventures recently, I’ve acquired several years worth of Martha Stewart bridal magazines. They haven’t been so great for planning my own wedding, but they’ve been quite interesting from an anthropological perspective!

They’re confirming my belief that matching “bridal” bridesmaid dresses are insane. I wonder if people will look back 10 years from now and think the dresses they’re picking today are so crazy?

The first one I stumbled upon is a tartan number from the 1998 edition. Really, when someone asked for the bride’s colors did she say “Red and black plaid! I can’t wait! It’s going to be be *gorgeous*!!”

And why does the model only have one foot, or toe, or tail, or whatever that is sticking out on the right?

The second most interesting one I found is from 1997. Thanks to my sister’s wedding…I can verify that but veils WERE in fact popular for bridesmaid dresses at this time.

Are the bridesmaids so jealous of the bride that they’ll wear a veil anywhere they can put one? Is this supposed to hide or accentuate the derriere?

And again, with the one right foot. Are they just trying to prove to us that these are in fact women with (at least one) feet?

I consider myself somewhat lucky that I’ve only been in two weddings. I’ve spared the expense of a million dresses that I’ll most likely never wear again.

If you’re married, do you look back at the bridesmaid dresses and regret anything about them? What do they say about the time at which you got married? Do you still love the look as much today as you did then?

  1. August 11, 2011 at 1:01 pm

    These dresses SCREAM My Best Friend’s Wedding and every other 90s wedding movie!

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    August 11, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    remembering 42 yrs. ago … my sister had worn her prom dress (from a few months before), and my wonderful aunt rita made them for katie & geri. they were light green w/ a purple sash. i still think they were very pretty!

    • August 11, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      But I know what you thought of your sister’s dresses!

  3. August 11, 2011 at 6:54 pm

    I just never understood why brides sometimes make their bridemaids look awful! I mean serious, that first picture looks like a picnic table cloth haha

  4. August 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    I wore the most hideous green tartan flower girl dress back in 1995.

    Awful!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

