Home > Wedding > And the lovely ladies are…

And the lovely ladies are…

Since I discussed their dresses yesterday, I figure today I’ll introduce my girls! Aren’t they lovely?

From my senior prom. I'm in the red. Kt's standing on the right. Don't you love her bangs? She was especially banging that year.

The first person I asked to be a bridesmaid is the friend I’ve known the longest time. Kt and I haven’t exactly been friends since we first met (she was quite annoying in middle school!), but we bonded during Sperry’s Latin classes and drama productions in high school.

We were those cool kids  in high school who didn’t belong to any of the usual clique’s. We weren’t nerdy enough to be considered the real nerds, but weren’t cool enough to be super popular.

But our small group found ways to be a clique amongst ourselves. Our outings were so strange, my mother admitted (years later) to following me one Friday night — “So you’re going to go downtown and drink ‘coffee’ until the coffee shop closes and then sit on the steps of the ‘church’? Really? That’s all you’re going to do?”

Yes mom. That’s all we did! *polishes halo*

At her going away party. It's hard to believe it was three years ago.

No! Seriously! That’s all we did!

The second person I asked, I’m pretty sure I asked via email. And I’m pretty sure it went something like “You know you’re going to be a bridesmaid, right?” To which Lauren answered, “I figured as much!”

I’ve known Lauren just a little bit longer than I’ve known Charles. And I’m always somewhat surprised that we became friends in the first place given how shy we both are. But somehow it happened!

We bonded over yummy food and Gilmore Girls (she’ll know why there’s 1,000 yellow daisies at my reception) and many yummy drinks over the years (especially the plane ride to Boston and the seasonal specials in DC this summer). Although we’re not as “old” of friends as Kt and I, it’s a different kind of friendship that I appreciate no matter how far away from me she moves.

And finally, the last person that I asked is Tawana, Charles’ sister.

She made it clear to me a long time before we were even engaged that I was part of their family.

Charles and Tawana have a relationship unlike many siblings I know. They are two peas in a pod (which makes it hard for me to believe I don’t have a photo of her to share with you!). (I guess Charles really does read my blog! Out of nowhere I got photos!)

When my brother calls me, I know something’s wrong and I need to get home.

It would be if one of them DIDN’T call the other that they would know something is wrong.

Charles was somewhat surprised that my list ended here. He very well could have had 10 or 15 friends stand up for him. And I’m sure I could have too if I tried to make the list longer…but on my wedding day, I want those that are the happiest for me to stand the closest to me. I want these people to be the ones that mean the most to me and I want them to be honored that they were chosen to be among the few to stand with me.

And although they won’t be asked to do much (seriously…did you see the dress post yesterday?) I want them to be the girls in my life that I know would be the first to stop what they were doing and help me if I really needed it.

And I’m confident that they are!

  1. Kt
    July 22, 2011 at 8:46 am

    I can’t wait! I am proud to stand up for you. And to protect you from roving brigands intent on stealing you away to hold you for ransom! I shall protect your virtue! 😉

    • July 22, 2011 at 8:47 am

      Hrm…maybe I should rethink this if I need people to protect my virtue!

  2. July 22, 2011 at 8:56 am

    Terrific stories and reasons for choosing three such important people! I’ll know why there are 1,000 yellow daisies too. I STILL watch GG reruns.

  3. gretchen
    July 22, 2011 at 10:07 am

    goodnight, burt

    • July 22, 2011 at 10:09 am

      The first thing charles will learn when we move in together is where the coupon drawer is. Because a coupon jar just isn’t the same.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

