Home > Wedding > So what’s behind those matching dresses?

So what’s behind those matching dresses?

Photo from guwapa.blogspot.com

I’m pretty firmly convinced that the more a bridesmaid dress costs, the least likely you are to EVER wear it again.

The kindest bride I’ve ever stood up for had me buy a $30 dress from Target. And talk about cost per wear! I wore that dress until it was faded, and even loved it so much I bought the same dress in another color.

Where did the tradition of matching bridal parties begin?

In early Roman times, bridesmaids formed a kind of bridal infantry as they accompanied the bride to the groom’s village. This “protective shield” of similarly outfitted bridesmaids was supposed to intervene if any wayward thugs or vengeful suitors tried to hurt the bride or steal her dowry.

Ok. We’re getting married in Winchester. I’m not so sure there will be too many wayward thugs…and I don’t believe I have any vengeful suitors…and well…my dowry isn’t much to speak of!

Photo Courtesy of the Bride

So instead of dressing my girls in matching satin or taffeta (of a color I’m sure none of them would be a fan of)…I’m planning to follow in my cousin’s footsteps and attempt a somewhat new trend.

Let the girls pick out their own dress within a certain color family.

I’m hoping this will work with just three girls, and I’m hoping it will help them love me even more! As long as it’s a lighter shade of green, comes down to their knees, and is church appropriate in the cleavage area…I’m good!

And the new bridesmaids edition of Say Yes to the Dress Atlanta has me even more convinced that this is a genius idea. I tend to not be friends with people who cause drama…and I’ve yet to see a dress picking session that goes drama free, so why risk it?

  1. July 21, 2011 at 8:55 am

    Awesome idea Mary! Your bridesmaids will love you for it and I love the idea of a dress that people actually CAN wear again!

  2. Kt
    July 21, 2011 at 9:17 am

    W…..T…..F, MaryM!!! You are NOT, like, OMG, going to make ME choose my own dress??? OMG. I am SO going to ruin your wedding for this, you are such a total betch! OMG! How DARE you? Don’t you know how important it is that *I* look PRETTIEST? *screeching harpy noises* *drama drama drama*

    • July 21, 2011 at 9:19 am

      Oh, I can pick a dress for you! And I’ll make sure it’s nothing you can ever wear again and it’ll cost you $500 🙂

  3. Jeannine
    July 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

    …and polyester.

  4. July 21, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    That’s fantastic, Mary – it’s a great idea and so thoughtful for your bridesmaids! I think that matched-mismatched look is beautiful – like a super-elegant garden party. You rock!

    • July 21, 2011 at 12:41 pm

      I like the sound of “Elegant Garden Party”! I think that’s sort of what I’m going for. Also, since the reception will be outdoors, I want the girls to be comfy in dresses that will breath! Not awful polyester and satin.

  5. July 22, 2011 at 8:46 am

    That’s a wonderful idea Mary!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

