Home > Tasty Tuesday > Pie Day!

Pie Day!

My office makes a pretty big deal out of birthdays. It’s always my favorite when someone comes to me to help plan (which is rare), and I get to suggest something that the honoree likes, but that I also love!

Pie!

This is my second time making pies for the July celebration. What’s more summer-like than pie?

Last night I hit the store for the few ingredients I needed (apples, cherry filling and pie crusts).

Don’t get me started on making pie crusts. I have about 12 square inches of counter space so I am not about to do it from scratch! And it was Martha herself that suggested to me once to use Pilsbury crusts. So I do.

Cherry pie is easy. Bring crust to room temperature, pour in two cans of filling, put crust on top and crimp edges. Done. Bake following the directions on the can.

But I wanted it to be special so I used my paring knife to write Happy Birthday to the honorees. It’s not easy. And I should have made “Happy” bigger because the crust cracked right through the word. but it comes out cool when the red filling bubbles up through the holes!

Next was apple. My right hand is still a little cramped from peeling and slicing 6 apples. I must be out of practice. Then I added a cup of sugar, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves to the apples. I let them sit for about 30+ minutes until they became nice and juicy and gooey. This filling is the best one I’ve ever made, I think. It was amazing. Just look how shiny the goo is!

After filling the crust and crimping and cutting vents, I baked at 450 for about 40 minutes. You know they’re done when the crusts are the perfect color.

Now I can’t wait until we get to eat them in two hours…

  1. eileen o'brien poole
    July 20, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    “easy as pie” … who doesn’t love “shiny goo”? … and pillsbury is the way to go w/ the crust. smells yummy – even from here!

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    July 20, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    so i got thinking about pie … i had frozen (pillsbury) crusts, 3 apricots, a nectarine, strawberries (all cut up), even a few blueberries – and now we have a delicious smelling fruit pie! oh … the power of suggestion … thanx, cousin!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

