Home > Family, Home > Aunt Mary’s Here!

Aunt Mary’s Here!

Sometimes it’s easy to overlook how much you’re loved when life becomes a routine. But going home last weekend for the first time since Easter, I was overjoyed to see it again in the face of children.

My first stop was at my sister’s house, to see her before they left for a trip. As I pulled into her cul de sac and beeped my horn at my niece on her bike, her face lit up! (Did she know I’d missed her birthday and had a present for her? Maybe.)

Then when I got to my mom and brother’s house, 5 out of 6 of the kids were waiting on the stoop with Granny. I guess they’d gotten too wound up and excited to be inside anymore!

You’d think I spoil these kids rotten, but I swear I don’t! All I had for them this time (with the exception of the two about to have birthdays) were toys from happy meals that I’ve collected (I can’t just pass on one toy…I have to wait until I have 4 or 5 so no one gets upset). But surprises or no surprises, they were just excited I’d come to see them and there was a new face around. And possibly a second iPhone in the house so two of them could play snail race at the same time.

Watch how many times I can jump rope Mary! Watch how long we can hula hoop! Watch us race around the house and see who wins!

Wow. Was my childhood really that simple?

 

Categories: Family, Home Tags: , , ,
  1. Jeannine
    June 30, 2011 at 8:34 am

    One of my favorite things in the whole wide world is my nephew Quinn’s chants of Auntie Nini Auntie Nini Auntie Nini!!! Melts me. His mom says he sometimes inquires about me and “Guncle” when he wakes up from his nap. Why? Certainly not because I spoil him. Maybe we are just awesome aunts!!! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

