Home > Home, Uncategorized > Honey do…

Honey do…

The most useful tool I have found since owning a house, is having a boyfriend who for all instances “has a guy.”

I need my house painted – “I know a guy,” he says.

I need electrical work done – “I know a guy.”

I have a list of miscellaneous things to do all over the house (fix the fence gate so it won’t blow open, install a light in Granny’s room, fix a socket the painting “guy” installed wrong, etc.) – “I know a guy.”

Today I’ve left Charles at my house with this exhaustive list, along with a list of things he can do while waiting for his guy/while the guy works. Raking the yard makes me sick…it’s on there. Those curtain rods I’m too short to install (why would anyone buy a step ladder when they can just date someone tall?), level the washer so it won’t annoying crawl across the floor, etc.

And on the topic of electricians…my house is 30 years old and when I moved in, neither bedroom had a light in it. They both had switches, but no light attached. I get it that it’s cheaper for developers to not install the fixtures, but really? For 30 years people have lived there and not thought it necessary to have a light that would come on when the switch was flipped? No more. Whoever lives there next should really love me.

Categories: Home, Uncategorized Tags: , , ,
  1. April 18, 2011 at 9:58 am

    “why would anyone buy a step ladder when they can just date someone tall?” made me literally laugh out loud (and spit coffee all over the place!)

    • April 18, 2011 at 10:05 am

      Also, why do you think I lived with Jamie? It was all about being able to reach things stored on the top shelves.

  2. gretchen
    April 18, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    i’m pretty sure whoever lives there next should love charles.

  3. eileen o'brien poole
    April 18, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    i have a ‘honey do’ he just seems to ‘do slower’ these days …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

