Home > Family, Uncategorized > Cousin Kathy’s Irish Soda Bread

Cousin Kathy’s Irish Soda Bread

I had really hoped to bake this last night to have photos to provide for you, but unfortunately I wasn’t feeling like it. Hopefully I will get to have some this weekend when I go home to see Mom and I can add a photo of it then. She makes it better anyway. But I can assure you, it’s delicious!

I’m fairly sure this recipe came from Cousin Kathy (whose quiche I featured last year). If it wasn’t Kathy, it was someone in her family for sure! Since I don’t have a photo of the bread, I’ll share one of Cousin Kathy (dancing with her brother Danny).

This bread is best if it’s made in a large cast iron skillet. Something about the skillet gives the bread an amazing crust.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 5 tsps baking powder (note – it’s POWDER, not soda, even though it’s called “soda” bread. yeah. this confuses me)
  • 1 Tbsp caraway seeds
  • 1 cup raisins (pour boiling water over them and soak until plump)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 3 Tbsp melted butter or oleo

Sift dry ingredients. Add the rest and blend with a fork. The dough will be moist.

Grease and flour a skillet (or cake or loaf pans if you must).

Flour your hands and loosen the batter from the sides of the bowel. It will be stiff. Pour it into your skillet or two small loaf pans. Brush the top with milk.

Bake at 375 for 45-50 minutes (less time if you use smaller pans).

I can already taste the caraway seeds!

Traditionally, this bread is served with apples and cheddar. However, I prefer plain Kerrygold butter. Yum!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

