Home > Tasty Tuesday > Chicken Pot Pie, and I don’t care!

Chicken Pot Pie, and I don’t care!

I promised Lara I would post this blog early, so she could make these yummy pies for dinner tonight!

For weeks now, I’ve been meaning to make a chicken pot pie recipe I saw on Emily’s blog. Charles planned to come over to dinner last night, so I asked if that was something he’d like. He said sure. I found out later, he figured I was buying them pre-made at Trader Joe’s or something.

But yay for fresh semi-homemade pies!

The ingredients are easy enough and 90% of them I have on hand most of the time:

  • Chicken (I use frozen tenderloins from Trader Joe’s)
  • Pie crust (I love the frozen kind from Pilsbury. Ever since Martha suggested them as a shortcut, I’ve been hooked! They’re the closes to Mom’s that I’ve found in a pre-made crust. And I HATE making crust).
  • Cream of Chicken soup (I followed Emily’s recommendation and went 98% fat free instead of low sodium. I don’t add any salt to the dish, so it works out great).
  • Mixed Frozen Veggies. It took me a while to find a mix that didn’t contain lima beans. I remembered Charles doesn’t like them (he never had Giggie’s!). And he even commented while eating his pie, “Where did you find mixed veggies without lima beans?” Score one for me!
  • Herbs. You can spice as you like. I used about a Tablespoon of rosemary and a Tablespoon of thyme. I’d use less rosemary next time.

To make it even easier, I grilled my chicken on the Foreman grill. I feel like I can do other things while meat grills on there. If it was in a pan, I’d feel the need to watch it so that it doesn’t stick. And the grill requires no oil!

While it was grilling, I put my veggies in a big mixing bowl and microwaved them for about 4 minutes (just to get the frost off – stirring halfway through). When they were done, I cut up the chicken, threw it into the bowl, and added the can of soup.

After mixing well, I scooped about 1 cup into each of my mini-casseroles and ramekins which already had a bottom crust in them.

Remember how I don’t like to make crust? I don’t really like working with it. I went more for flavor than look on this dish. Working a large crust into a small, deep bowl isn’t fun.

I did top and bottom crusts, but considering the crust is the most indulgent thing in the recipe, you might choose to do just one or the other. Top only would be easiest, but my father wouldn’t allow me to do it. There wasn’t much he hated more than turning a pot pie out of it’s pan and having gravy spread all over his plate because there was no bottom crust!

When the pies were constructed, I gave a quick egg white wash to the tops and baked them at 350 for about 40 minutes (just until the crusts started to brown. I like them a little doughy).

Would Charles eat them again…Yes!!

  1. February 23, 2011 at 12:38 pm

    They look amazing!! So glad you enjoyed them. 🙂

  1. March 14, 2011 at 3:02 pm

Leave a Reply

