Home > Tasty Tuesday > Product Review – Kraft Homestyle Mac and Cheese

Product Review – Kraft Homestyle Mac and Cheese

When I worked for the paper, we had a policy of not writing bad reviews. I tend to stick to that, but today, I’ll make an exception.

In my sickness-induced shopping last week, I picked up a bag of the new Kraft Homestyle Mac and Cheese (Italian herb version). I thought it would come out similar to my mom’s baked maccaroni.

No dice.

Maybe it’s only this “herb” version, but it has absolutely NO flavor. none. Not a hit of oregano, cilantro, basil, not a single Italian spice.

Just mushy noodles and breadcrumbs.

In the same amount of time it took me to boil the noodles, melt the butter, stir in “herbs” and melt down “cheese” (yes, it’s that scary cheese like in velveeta shells and cheese that comes gooey out of a packet), I could have made “Mom’s Recipe.”

Maybe I’m a weird kid because I never have liked Kraft…I just knew “Mom’s” was better.

Why do I keep putting “Mom” in quotes? I swore for the first 20 years of my life she had some super awesome baked maccaroni recipe.

I called her for it one day when I lived in my first apartment. She read the whole recipe to me and I painstakingly took it down word for word.

Then she laughed at me and said “Or you can just read the side of the Mueller’s box. Really Mary?”

Anyway, nothing touches it.

  1. Laney
    February 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Our homemade mac & cheese was also off the back of the Mueller’s box. I still make it today, but we tweak it a bit. It’s hands-down the best out there, although I do still have a warm, special place in my belly for blue box mac.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

