Home > Life Lessons > How a few years can change your perspective…

How a few years can change your perspective…

When I arrived at college my freshman year, I knew no one. My roommate was some random girl from Oklahoma (I was sure she was going to be some kind of hick) and while all my high school classmates chose to go to UVa. or VA Tech, I decided to pay through the nose for Catholic school.

Why not? I’d never been to Catholic school…

The icing on top of the scary cake…I was selected to live on “South Campus” – a cluster of just three buildings separated from campus by at least 9 lanes of traffic.

We were secluded.

We were all alone on the edge of a ghetto! (At least in those days it seemed like a ghetto!)

I thought it was awful. The guys constantly trashed our dorm. We woke up one night with a stranger sleeping on our floor. My roommate was chased by a drunk guy with a pair of scissors…oh the stories!

But looking back on it now…that’s the stuff that memories are made of.

The friends that I have from college that I still talk to, not a single one of them had the same major as me (and my major was one of the biggest!). Few of them shared classes with me. But most of them have an amazing thing in common with me.

We survived South Side!

Today was bitter-sweet as I watched a wrecking ball smash (well, it bounced a few times, and then it sort of plunked itself) into a wall of that freshman dorm. Now working at the university, I can’t WAIT for restaurants and shops to come to the area. But the word “Spellman” will always conjur such fun memories for me.

If only I could go back and more fully appreciate them!

Categories: Life Lessons Tags: , , ,
  1. Lara Allen
    February 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    Is this the dorm you were living in when I came to visit and was told to go stand by a tree?

  2. February 11, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Oh, man. That’s crazy! The dorm I lived in at UK was brand new– I was the first person to ever sleep on my bed. As awesome as that sounds, I always wished I lived in one of the older dorms. They had an established community and so much more character!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

