Home > Family > Necco Wafer Memories

Necco Wafer Memories

I was checking out at CVS last night, buying my two packs of Ramen noodles (I’m siiiiick) and I glanced down and the hallelujah chorus rang out to me.

Necco wafers have such fond memories for me. They were one of my Dad’s favorites, and it was “special” whenever we got them as kids. They were also one of many signs for many years that we thought my brother would be a priest.

Of course, I bought them.

The first sign occured because my parents had a different idea about making kids behave in church. A lot of people with small children sit toward the back – so their children won’t be a bother to those around them.

Not my parents.

We marched right up that center aisle to the front pews every week. Our parents put us up there so that we KNEW everyone in the church could see us. Any sign of acting up and a squeeze of the hand or knee was all it took to remind us of that.

Sitting up there in the front, as a small child, my brother liked to copy what people did. But in the front of the church, the only person to copy is the priest.

So every time the priest raised his hands…my brother raised his hands. Every time the priests arms were open wide, my brother’s were opened wide. He made a perfect altar server later in life.

And I can remember going to church when I was about 3 or 4 (I know it was before any of us had our first communion) and in the back seat, for some reason we’d been given Necco wafers.

On the way to Mass, my brother sat in the back seat holding Neccos in front of my sister and I and very solumnly saying “The Body of Christ.” We’d stick out our tongues and be rewarded with sugary goodness πŸ™‚

(This, my friends, is what my former coworkers at the Arlington Catholic Herald would call “sacrilicious.”)

  1. Angie
    February 3, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Very nice reflection… although, I gotta say, I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Necco wafers before! You weird Winchester people! πŸ™‚

    Oh… and I totally used to play Mass with Cheese Nips… now THAT was sacrilicious! πŸ™‚

  2. February 3, 2011 at 11:06 am

    They’re not a Winchester thing, they’re a New England thing (New England Confectionery Co. NECCO). They also make the conversation hearts (but that recipe must be drastically different because they’re NOT what I remember them being and the wafers taste SO much better!)

    Cheese nips look nothing like communion…

  3. February 6, 2011 at 10:43 am

    I love Necco wafers! I had forgotten all about them.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

