Home > Life Lessons > Snow Storm Baking

Snow Storm Baking

There’s something magical about a snow storm.

Maybe because the drifting piles of snow resemble sifted sugar…

It makes me want to bake (and I have a feeling I’m not alone).

Getting home early yesterday (thank GOD we closed at 2 and no later) I began dreaming of cookies and breads.

I love chocolate chip cookies, but more for the cookie and not so much for the chocolate (call me crazy), so my first quest was to find a cookie recipe. I found a basic one and ta da! Had all the ingredients on hand. Now, because I’m super lazy, I didn’t want to think about making trays and trays of cookies. I took the easy way out and did cookie bars. YUM!

My next idea was great at the time…use up all the ripe bananas in my freezer. Defrosted and mashed it was about 3 cups worth. 3 cups = 4 times the usual recipe. But I thought psssh. My kitchenaid can handle it! (It barely did)

I mixed it, poured it out into two giant pans, and set about to bake it for 45 minutes to an hour. 45 minutes later…still liquid in the middle. And hour later…not quite done.

Then…

The power went out. I was pretty certain the bread wasn’t done, so I dared not open the oven and just left it in over night hoping the residual heat might finish baking the runny bread.

As you can see…it did not. Now I have two giant containers of something that more closely resembles banana bread pudding instead of actual bread. (It still tastes quite yummy though!)

I do not regret baking though. When I went to bed last night, my thermostat read 71. I was scared how much it would drop. By morning…61. Not too shabby! I’m sure having a hot oven helped a little bit in keeping me warm!

At least the cookie bars look pretty 🙂

 

Categories: Life Lessons Tags: , , , ,
  1. January 27, 2011 at 10:59 am

    It sounds like you’re in my neck of the woods! I’m in Woodbridge! Keep the half-baked banana bread. Pull the cooked parts into chunks and let them dry like croutons. When you get your power back, make banana bread pudding. It’s amazing!
    Stay warm!
    Sarina

    http://bakingisapieceofcake.wordpress.com

    • January 27, 2011 at 11:02 am

      Yes! I’m just north of Woodbridge. Hope you get power back soon if you don’t have it yet!
      I did save it figuring I’d come up with something to do with it. The ends were salvageable…but not sure what I’ll do with the mushy stuff. Maybe bake it a little bit more into cookies.

  2. gretchen
    January 28, 2011 at 11:25 am

    I read this post while munching on a toffee chocolate chip cookie that i baked during the storm. Banana bread cookies sound great to me. Give it a shot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

