Home > Tasty Tuesday > A Weekend of Cooking!

A Weekend of Cooking!

By my standards, this weekend was incredibly productive (well, Saturday was at least). I did about 5 loads of laundry, got rid of three bags and a giant rubbermaid container of stuff in my basement (either put away, put in piles to go home, or put in the trash, yay!) and managed to cook a delicious meal. (Some day I’ll get that basement completely unpacked…someday.)

So back to the meal. It was probably 5 or 6 years ago that LK first introduced me to the idea of putting veggies in a burger. Turkey burgers were all the rage, and, lets face it, they’re pretty dry and tasteless.

Add in some zuchinni and BAM! A whole new burger.

Since I’m attempting to use up anything in my freezer that I can’t remember the purchase date of, I’ve been looking for ways to use chicken. I have a bag of frozen tenderloins and I got so sick of eating chicken breasts that I had to figure out more inventive ways of cooking them than just grilling or baking.

Enter, the zuchinni dill chicken burger. The zuchinni and dill give a sort of “Greek” flavor to the burger, while the veggies keep the meat nice and moist (unlike plain chicken or turkey burgers). Plus, with all the added bulk with the veggies, two (normal sized, not huge) servings of chicken end up making four burgers. And they’re pretty big burgers! (That’s a “sandwich plate” pictured above. Not a huge dinner plate. I hardly ever use big plates because they make my food look so tiny!)

I took the chicken out to defrost in the morning in the fridge. By 5 p.m., they were still slightly frozen in the middle, but that made for an easier job of grinding using my KitchenAid meat grinder attachment.

An hour or two before I made dinner, I shredded the zuchinni (two medium ones). It helps if you put them in a colander and let them drain for a while. I think overnight would be best, but after an hour I pressed them between paper towels to dry them the rest of the way (wet veggies = burgers that fall apart. So don’t skip this!).

I mixed them with the two servings of ground chicken, added 1.5 Tbsp dill; 1 Tbsp minced garlic (the jarred kind); 1 Tbsp dried onion flakes; and one beaten egg.

Cook on a HOT grill (and make sure it’s clean. There were little bits left behind from the first two that caused the second two to stick unevenly).

I served mine on Trader Joe’s sandwich thins, topped with Trader Joe’s Yogurt Cilantro Chive dip (homemade tzatziki is also great). In fact, the entire meal was bought at Trader Joe’s (with super yummy honey wheat pretzels on the side!).

  1. Jessica
    January 24, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Wow! Great idea – chicken burger looks yummy. And another use for the Cilantro Yogurt dip – love it!

  2. Jeannine
    January 24, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Chicken can get so boring! We found some new recipes and lately Andrew has cooked buffalo, coconut, Hawaiian-style, and tzatziki. We also love adobo!!!

  3. January 24, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    These sound so absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

