Home > DIY > Yes, I’m still alive!! And you can get something for it!

Yes, I’m still alive!! And you can get something for it!

So I had every intention of starting the blog posts back up when I returned to work on Monday, but then I realized, hey, I have nothing to talk about that isn’t alreay old news! So rather than bore you, I left you hanging.

But ta-da!

I read half a billion (ok, I over-estimate) posts about new years and new goals, etc. But honestly, I sort of hate new years. Beginning maybe 5 years ago I went into it all jazzed and excited and “Next year will be great! It can’t get much worse than last year!”

But as you age, I’ve learned that yeah. Things CAN get worse!

New year’s to me is more of an arbitrary day where weird people drink a whole lot, stay up til midnight and then the party is over (yes, I was weird once too). It doesn’t hold any magical meaning for me anymore. Why wait for an arbitrary day to set goals when you can do that, well, any day?

Anyway…one of my goals (set today, not 4 days ago) was brought to my attention by a fellow Facebook friend. I think it’s such an awesome idea and a great way to get the creative juices flowing!

Alexandra posted: Make It Forward 2011….I promise to send something homemade to the first 5 people who leave a comment here. They must, in turn, post this and send something they make to the first 5 people who comment on their status. The rules are that it must be handmade and it must be sent to your 5 people sometime in 2011. Read carefully before you… comment!

I love it so much I did it in Facebook, and I’ll offer it to another 5 people via the bloggy world. If you blog, post a comment to this post and post a blog about Make it Forward, and if you’re in the first 5 (or only 5), I’ll make you something too!

I figured it’d be super duper easy peasy to whip up some knitted scarves or purses, sew an apron or make some jewelry, etc. …but then my male cousin (who makes fabulous pottery!) responded. Hrm…I may have to expand my “making” horizons!

Categories: DIY Tags: , , , ,
  1. January 5, 2011 at 5:20 pm

    I completely understand.

    While I agree that it seems kind of silly to wait for Jan 1 to make resolutions to do things, I have to admit that I made one this year, too… to FINALLY reach my weight loss goal! πŸ™‚

    • January 5, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      Well, since I’ve had that goal for so many years, I don’t really see it as a resolution anymore! πŸ™‚

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    January 6, 2011 at 12:13 pm

    i love the ‘make it forward’ concept … please count me in, cousin! i, also, love that leo (now) knows “ta da”! he probably learned from the same lovely lady that taught us! … now to get those creative ideas going …

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

