Home > Home > O Christmas Tree

O Christmas Tree

I finally got my tree decorated yesterday (due in large part to not wanting to work on my final paper for class!).

I’m not a huge fan of the tree itself. If it weren’t for my allergies I’d have a real one because at least they smell pretty. but to me, the tree is really just a venue to hang some of my favorite things on. The ornaments are really where it’s at!

I’ve found it rather odd when I’ve run into people who buy ornaments. Other than to give to other people, I’ve never bought an ornament for myself before. My tree has no “theme” or cohesion to it, other than the fact that it’s a story of my life. From the “1980” ornaments I was given the year I was born to the very angel that tops the tree, every piece has a story behind it and a person who lovingly picked out that special ornament for me to have. And each year, I get to remember those special people and times in my life when I unpack the box and unwrap the carefully packed pieces.

Dee Dee's mice. They like to hang together on the tree so they don't get lonely. And they're always on the front. Anything with a face goes on the front. You wouldn't want anyone to miss seeing anything!

My angel made by DeeDee, when I was probably 4 or 5.

Not my first Christmas, but pretty close!

My baby ornament. I think also made by Dee Dee. And in thinking of Dee Dee, this one is also stored during the year in a small Parkay tub.

Pacman. Hand-crocheted by either our neighbor Irma, or Mary Steelman.

My prettiest ornament. I don't know that this one was mine to start with, but Mom gave it to me when I had my first tree of my own.

The first angel ornament my dad gave me as a teen. He always called me "Angel Face" and for quite a few years, gave me an angel ornament.

Another one from, you guessed it, Dee Dee. She seems to have had a thing for mice in the '80s.

  1. gretchen
    December 14, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    we have a ton of old mice ornaments! they are wooden with things like metal eyeglasses. they were the bane of my mom’s existence for about 30 years, but my dad absolutely loves them.

    • December 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      do you hang them all together on the tree? my cousin Lara and I hang like ones together. because birds of a feather flock together. And because it drives Dee Dee mad!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

