Home > DIY > Christmas Presents, Complete!

Christmas Presents, Complete!

Shirt #1. Post cut, pre-sewing (and ironing obviously)

So after only a few months (yeah right) of planning to make my nieces and cousins’ Christmas gifts, they’re finally done with only a few weeks to spare! (Ok, I’m not completely done, but the other two are technically for birthdays)

Enter, the pillowcase dress!

I hate cutting patterns so I cheated just a little bit. I did it sans pattern. When I was home over Thanksgiving I had two nieces stand up straight for me and I taped butcher paper to their backs. I traced about how long I’d need the dresses, and how large the arm holes should be. I fudged these to approximate the sizes of the other three girls, making shirts for the two oldest girls, and full length dresses for the younger ones.

Three done! Only two left.

The thing I love most about using the vintage cases, crocheted hems. There’s no way I would have been able to finish embroidering 5 pillowcases on my own, let alone crochet hems on all of them! I really think that makes the dress look more like a dress and less like a pillowcase.

Honestly, I have no excuse for not starting earlier. The first dress took me nearly an hour to sew, but that time was nearly cut in half once I knew what I was doing!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

