Home > Uncategorized > Round Numbers

Round Numbers

I sort of didn’t want to post today. I LOVE round numbers, and seeing that I had 100 posts…it just made me happy!

Now I’ll have to look forward to another milestone…

Speaking of round numbers, I also like that my age is a round number. I’m not in the “upper” anythings anymore. I’m just 30.

However, I learned today that evidently, being 30 and unwed makes me an Old Maid. But I guess I’ve been an Old Maid for a while since my fellow spinster of a coworker (who is only 27) was also called an Old Maid and evidently, we’re in a race to get engaged.

(All of this was revealed to me by a coworker in her “upper” 40s who is divorced. But I guess she has no regrets over marrying young even if it wasn’t the right guy??)

I don’t think I’ve ever had a notion in my head of “I have to be married by the time I’m…” any age.

Even though I live by them at work, I hate deadlines! What if I don’t make it? What if I settle for something that stinks just because I want to meet it?

And marriage has never been something I’ve taken lightly.

I want it to be right.

I want to be sure we REALLY know each other.

I want to know in my heart that I can support myself before I attempt to work with someone else to support a home together.

I want to be sure we work out any kinks before we enter not only a commitment to each other, but a legally binding contract.

It’s serious business people!

So to all the spinsters and Old Maids, I say, go on with your bad self.

And to the co-worker who called us Old Maids, wiki gives me 8 more unmarried years before I deserve that title. Someone should learn it’s rude to live vicariously through younger people doing what’s right for themselves!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. gretchen
    December 2, 2010 at 1:08 pm

    As a fellow spinster, I appreciate your words!

    • December 2, 2010 at 1:09 pm

      You’ve still got 10 years G!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

