Home > Tasty Tuesday > Couscous with Mix-ins!

Couscous with Mix-ins!

Pardon the photo quality. My camera died on me 😦

I’m a fan of most any food to which you can add toppings – potatoes, ice cream, oatmeal, cake (never heard of cake with toppings? Meet my friend Gretchen), couscous!

I think the first time I ever had couscous was at Coastal Flats. Their pecan crusted trout (yum!) is served on top of a bed of couscous with almonds. What the menu doesn’t reveal, is there are also tons of other yummy bits (craisins, raisins, scallions, etc.) mixed in.

I was happily surprised when I discovered how easy couscous was to make. I thought pasta was simple, but woah! 3 minutes and it’s done!

This caused me to branch out even further, trying Israeli couscous, quinoa, barley, etc. They take a little longer, but have more “stick with you” power than the quick stuff. Especially Israeli couscous, which literally, sticks to you.

I discovered conveniently mixed “Harvest Grains Blend” at Trader Joe’s and gave it a try. In an easy, ready in 10 minutes package, they’ve combined Israeli couscous, orzo, dried beans and quinoa.

But that’s not enough variety for me. It’s still too, well, grainy. (And what do vegan zombies eat? grAAAAAINS)

Last night I whipped up a batch (or, the other half of the bag that was left) using 1/2 the water they call for and subbing lemon juice for the other half (I love lemony grains). Once cooked I added in a handful of craisins and a handful of slivered almonds (both left over from the cheeseballs!). To finish, I stirred in a tablespoon of chutney for even more fruity flavor (yet slightly spicy…also, leftover from the cheeseballs).

It was delicious! And I’m super excited to get to eat cold leftovers with my dinner tonight!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

