Home > Tasty Tuesday > The Return of Tasty Tuesday – LK’s Taco Stuff

The Return of Tasty Tuesday – LK’s Taco Stuff

Yes, it’s Wednesday, but I cooked it on Tuesday! So there!

I wanted to cook dinner last night and I had leftovers from having fajitas at girls’ night last week (I was in charge of toppings – sour cream, guac and salsa).

I’ve been meaning to make Lauren’s Taco Casserole for months now, so I figured this was a good time since I had fresh salsa to use up!

First off, I’m refusing from here on out to call it a casserole. I told my mom what I was making for dinner and when I used the word “casserole” her immediate response was “EW!”

Casserole conjurs up images of Campbell’s Cream based soups, and that just does NOT go with this dish. For this reason also, I simply told my boyfriend we were having “tacos” for dinner because I didn’t want him to not come over because of the word “casserole.”

I’d much rather call it a Taco Pie or a Taco Bake.

Anyway, it’s super yummy and super easy! And really, pretty healthy too. And best of all, CHEAP!

I had the toppings on hand so all I had to get was chips, ground meat, black beans and an onion. All for about $8.50! And I love that this dish could change based on what veggies you have on hand or what types of toppings are already in your fridge.

My ingredients list was:

Reduced fat tortilla chips. I didn’t trust Lauren’s suggestion of 24 chips. I went with closer to 34 (hey, they were reduced fat anyway.
1 lb ground meat. I prefer chicken, but accidentally picked up turkey. Any meat will do.

I used snack packs of Wholly Guacamole to keep from having to deal with brown gross guac if I didn't finish it all

A can of black beans, rinsed and drained.
One onion, chopped. (I love red onions).
3 cloves crushed garlic
1 cup cheese. I shredded the cheddar I had leftover from the cheese balls.
1 cup salsa. I used the fresh kind that you can get in the produce section. I added a couple of tablespoons of salsa verde to give it more of a “sauce” consistency.
2 Tbsp taco seasoning
1 Tbsp oil (Lauren suggests chili oil. I just used olive.)
Guacamole and Sour Cream to top

Heat oven to 350.

Hint, when Lauren says a “big” skillet, she means a BIG skillet! Do not attempt to use a medium one!

Heat oil and sautee onion and garlic until soft. Add meat, break it up, and brown it. Stir in black beans and salsa, and sautee til bubbly.

Place chips in the bottom of a baking dish and flatten them with your hands so they’re in bite-size pieces. Top with meat and cheese and any other topping you want to heat (Lauren suggests olives, etc. I bet corn and/or peppers would be great!). Bake for 15ish minutes or until cheese is bubbly.

Scoop, top with cold toppings (sour cream and guac) and eat!

  1. Angie
    November 17, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    Sounds yummy!! I’ll have to give it a try sometime! 🙂

  2. January 21, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    sounds great! The crisps didn’t get soggy?

    • January 21, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      They do get a little soggy. It’s more of a dish to eat with a fork than with your hands.

      but it’s also great to use some extra chips and scoop it up 🙂

  1. July 12, 2011 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

