Home > Uncategorized > My Favorite Things – Music Downloads

My Favorite Things – Music Downloads

It’s no secret that I’m an easily distracted person.

Look! Something shiny!!

But really, at work, if I’m hearing the microwave beep, the phone ring, the guy next door belch, etc.; I’m not going to get ANYTHING done.

This is nothing new.

At my old job, we started a habit of “going into my world” when we were super busy and trying to be productive. It was as simple as a pair of earbuds. (Ear buds aren’t very noticable, so we started wearing “thinking caps,” but thankfully, I no longer have to wear a construction hat at work!)

It’s amazing that even though it’s blaring right in your ear, how music can help some of us to relax, focus, calm down, etc.

So, my most recent/most favorite music downloads have been:

1. Parenthood, the Soundtrack. I never paid much attention to soundtracks until I was in college. In one of my media classes, I wrote a story on conglomeration and how music was being advertised through TV shows. Since then, I notice. And I’m glad I noticed with Parenthood. This soundtrack including Bob Dylan, the Avett Brothers and Ray LaMontagne (among others) plays like a mix tape made by a significant other. They’re not just love songs (mostly) but they’re the most interesting and underplayed love songs.

2. Guster’s Easy Wonderful. It was super kind of the fellas to release this album on my birthday, and this was one of two albums I bought for myself as a present. I have to admit, I was dissapointed by many of their more recent albums (I missed the bare-handed drum solos of the late-90s). But I love the feel of this album. It’s peppy and happy. There’s two songs about Jesus on it. How can you not love songs about Jesus?

3. Dar Williams’ Many Great Companions. This was the second album bought for my birthday (or just before it). There isn’t a whole lot that’s new about it, but it’s some of my favorite songs from college. It’s a great compilation.

4. James Taylor & Carole King Live at the Troubadour. This is another compilation, but even better than that, a Live album of their most recent tour. Sure, maybe Carole can’t hit the high notes like she used to, but the duo still amazes me and is even more spectacular when they’re performing together. I took Mom to the concert for her birthday this year, and I think we were both either weepy or laughing hysterically nearly all the way through. The album, while not as amazing as the show, is a great mix of favorites of both artists.

5. Pete’s Dragon Soundtrack. Ok. Fine. I didn’t download it. But I did copy my CD on to my ipod recently. There’s no better Disney musical score in my book.

What have been your most recent and most favorite downloads?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

