Home > Uncategorized > Favorite Things – Children’s Board Games

Favorite Things – Children’s Board Games

When I was a kid, I probably played board games with my cousin Lara more than anyone else (well, maybe not myself. How sad is it that I had siblings but still played board games by myself??). The following were my favorites:

1. The Game of Life. This game was very serious to us. HELLO! It’s Life!! We had to name our husbands and kids (sometimes more kids than we could fit in the car). And we couldn’t just stop when we got to the end…no. If your number didn’t land you EXACTLY at the mansion, you had to go back however many spaces you had left in the number you spun. This rule made the games last much longer (Who doesn’t want a longer Life??).

Personally, I think the newer versions of this game are terrible. They never should have messed with the original.

2. Hungry Hungry Hippo. This was a game that was fun to play with others, or by myself (If you have two hands, you can control two hippos). I think I liked this game because I felt I had a lot in common with those hippos. However, living in a 200 year old house made it hard to play a fair game. There aren’t many truly level places to play.

3. Girl Talk. What I loved even more than giving each other “zits” to wear, were the crazy things we came up with. My favorite time was when Lara took a turn and was told to turn on the radio and the song playing would say something about her future. Amy Grant’s “Baby Baby” came on so we decided Lara would have 28 babies because that’s how often the word is mentioned.

4. Hi Ho Cheery-o. Another favorite to play alone (do you feel sorry for me yet or what?). And again like hungry hippos, I love cherries.

5. Candy Land!! I loved this game with Lara (even in high school) and have enjoyed playing it during power outages in my adult years. But like Life, if the color you draw isn’t ahead of you at the end, you have to go backward. Who doesn’t want more candy??

What were your favorite games as a kid?

  1. gretchen
    October 29, 2010 at 10:55 am

    totally agree about life. electronic life=lame. old life=a station wagon full of 16 blue and pink stick figures. loved it.

  2. Lara Allen
    October 29, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Ahhhhh…Girl Talk. I remember I used to ration the zits because I wanted them to last at LEAST twenty years. And what is this about Life being electronic?

    I liked all of your board game choices, but I would add Operation. I know it’s technically not a board game. I also enjoyed Mousetrap, but I never actually played it. I just like to set it up.

    • October 29, 2010 at 5:17 pm

      You mean mousetrap was a game and not just a puzzle??

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

