Home > Uncategorized > My Favorite Things – Candy

My Favorite Things – Candy

So, continuing with the favorites theme, but also being a little more festive, I thought today I’d discuss candy.

I wonder if kids these days have to deal with truely disgusting halloween candy. You know what I’m talking about. Those orange and black wrapped nasty tan colored taffy things…they were so gross, no one even knew what the hell they were. They were the worst.

The best was probably the year my cousins and I surprised their neighbor. Halloween was interesting where we grew up. Most everyone I knew when I was little (including my family) got no trick-or-treaters, maybe one or two, because we lived so far away from people. Halloween was a family thing. We’d get in a car and go visit every family member that wanted to see how cute we were.

So the neighbor wasn’t expecting kids. He had no candy. What he did have, were packs of oreo cookies in the freezer. They weren’t full-size packs, but they were pretty huge.

I think this was also the year of Lara’s ingenious pumpkin costume. We’d taken to making our own costumes, and Lara took a giant leaf bag, cut arm and leg holes, and stuffed it with herself and plenty of balled up newspaper.

It wasn’t until we got there that she realized she couldn’t fit in the car. She spent the rest of the night in the “way back” of mom’s Jeep. And several times, while walking, she’d “poop” newspaper on people’s lawns from her leg holes.

So back to candy…If I had to name a top five (and I’m talking common candy, not stuff that’s only around for Christmas or Easter) I’d have to say:

1. Kit Kats. What can I say, I’m always in need of a break.

2. Smarties. Duh. Because they make you smart.

3. Gobstoppers. A super nice coworker even made me a birthday cake once topped with gobstoppers.

4. Peppermint Patties. Personally, I prefer the mini ones to the big ones. I like for the chocolate to mint ratio to err on the side of chocolate.

5. Nerds. If they’re on a rope, that’s even better.

So, two questions for you…what’s your favorite and what will you be handing out to the kiddies this year?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. October 27, 2010 at 12:38 pm

    oh! thanks for the reminder that I need to look for nerds on a rope! sounds like a great combo!

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    October 27, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    our nana o’flaherty took us out trick -or-treating in our younger days … she’d be dressed-up, and we’d hit every 3 decker on our street in dorchester. we came home w/ a pillow case full of goodies! our children lived rural in plymouth so we spent their younger days @ the seamans. waterford, ct. was a quiet neighborhood so our kids went to the nearest one. but now – we have well over 100 children come. i put on my green wig, and sit on the porch, and enjoy them! we give out kit kats, hershey stuff, and sm. bags or chips & doritos. but if a cousin comes (hasn’t happened yet) we’ll definitely “up it” to something terrific!

  3. Lara Allen
    October 27, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    I LOVE the small Hersheys with almonds, but can never find them. There are some candies that I only eat this time of year. Milk Duds and Whoppers. We won’t be passing out candy this year! We will be taking Avery out trick or treating.

  4. eileen o'brien poole
    October 27, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    eileen o’brien poole :
    our nana o’flaherty took us out trick -or-treating in our younger days … she’d be dressed-up, and we’d hit every 3 decker on our street in dorchester. we came home w/ a pillow case full of goodies! our children lived rural in plymouth so we spent their younger days @ the seamans. waterford, ct. was a quiet neighborhood so our kids went to the nearest one. but now – we have well over 100 children come. i put on my green wig, and sit on the porch, and enjoy them! we give out kit kats, hershey stuff, and sm. bags or chips & doritos. but if a cousin comes (hasn’t happened yet) we’ll definitely “up it” to something terrific!

  5. October 28, 2010 at 7:30 pm

    I live on the second floor so I don’t get to pass out goodies. 😦 Buuuuut…I love me some Reese’s Peanut Butter cups…My favorite!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

