Home > Uncategorized > My Favorite Things – Movies

My Favorite Things – Movies

It’s hard to come up with a list of just five favorite movies, but…here you go.

1. On Borrowed Time. My dad bought me this movie once because he liked it. It’s sort of eery now to think that he gifted me the great film, in which death gets stuck in a tree and a family learns people must die when it’s their time. It’s a definite tear jerker.

2. Our Vines Have Tender Grapes. Another Dad choice…he knew how to pick a good movie. And let’s just face it, Margaret O’Brien can melt anyone’s heart!

3. Speaking of Margaret O’Brien, Little Women, the 1949 version with Margaret O’Brien. “We will always be a family even if one of us is gone. But Jo, I think that I will be homesick for you, even in heaven” *SOB*!

4. On a less sappy note, the Bad Seed. (Another of Dad’s favs.) Yes, there is a reason to be scared of those children who just seem too sweet for their own good. This may be one the most finely acted films of all time. And creepiest!

5. My last pick, and strangely, the most recently made movie out of the list, Pete’s Dragon.”It’s clear that friends can be different. Yes, I understand you now.”

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. Jamie
    October 21, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Mar…I’d love to see the “1449” version of Little Women! Movie night next time I’m in NoVA 🙂

    • October 21, 2010 at 10:14 am

      That’s what I get for trying to blog super quick before class!

  2. eileen o'brien poole
    October 22, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    your dad sent us a copy of THE BAD SEED many, many years ago … and i’ll forever hear the reverberation of “your such a pretty mother” … from jeannine & emily! (ya, thanks, joe, like the daughters didn’t have enough to tease me about!)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

