Home > Life Lessons > My Favorite Things – Drugs

My Favorite Things – Drugs

Not Superman, but it was the only super hero photo I had on file!

Today’s topic is again donated…after I shared a story I will share below.

I will begin with the disclaimer that everything I like about drugs is legal!

I have always been a firm believer in “if you don’t like something, do whatever you can to change it.” Therefore, do not complain to me about a headache if you’re not going to take an advil or tylenol. Don’t say your throat hurts if you haven’t had any water in 24 hours, etc.

I’m a huge fan of drugs. I don’t think I abuse them and try to only take them when necessary, but when they’re necessary, damn. I love them. What did people with migraines do a million years ago? More importantly, how the hell did women survive PMS??

My favorite drugs by far have to be whateverthehell my doctor gave me before my sinus surgery. Not the stuff that knocked me out on the table, but the stuff they gave me when I was still in the prep room. I thought the heated blankets were the BEST things in the world…until the drugs kicked in.

They asked me to walk to the operating room, but with an open-backed gown…let’s just say EEK!

So one of those super warm blankets was draped over my shoulders and they had me hold the corners around my neck.

Suddenly, magically, amazingly…I was Superman!

And then I fell asleep.

When I came to, I did my best to pretend I was still asleep because I did not want to be moved (and let’s face it, I’m not a morning person. Especially when people are trying to touch me!)

I think most of all, I wanted to be Superman as long as possible.

Disclaimer: I love most drugs. Morphine…I will never take again as long as I live if I can avoid it at all. No headache will ever be that bad again that I will think I’ll do anything. Talk about not wanting to be touched…

Categories: Life Lessons Tags:
  1. Danni
    October 21, 2010 at 11:29 am

    I LOOOOOVVVVEE it !!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

