Home > Uncategorized > My Favorite Things – Kitchenaid Mixers and Cost per Use

My Favorite Things – Kitchenaid Mixers and Cost per Use

Five or six years ago, I finally got the KitchenAid mixer of my dreams.

People seem to fall into two camps with this appliance. Either they love them and can’t imagine life without them, or they find them to be a terrible waste of money when you can buy a mixer for as little at $10.

I was raised to believe in value. My grandfather was the perfect example of frugal, but he would also never buy the cheapest version of something. If it was going to wear down or break and have to be fixed, that should be added into the cost.

You see, it’s not about the “price”…it’s about the cost, more importantly, the cost per use.

I don’t mind buying a $200 dress if I know I’ll wear it 20 times. I don’t mind paying the price for Uggs because they’re the most delicious feeling shoes on earth and I know they’ll last through a few winters (and I’ll wear them tons!).

But for something I’ll wear or use one or two times, I stick to frugality.

For mixing up my amazing cheese balls alone this thing has been worth it!

And I (like Alton Brown) hate appliances that can only do one thing (egg poacher? omelet maker? rice cooker?  no thank you). I don’t have the crazy space to store a million little gadgets, so I fully appreciate one decent sized appliance that can multitask.

The only attachment I have so far is the meat grinder, but even that alone does amazing things! Not only does it grind meat, it’s great for mushing vegetables (for things like eggplant meatballs) or grinding up a ton of cheese when you don’t want to expend the energy to do it by hand. I love it!

For the first couple of months that I had my mixer, I kept up with the cost per use. The first batch of cookies were my $200 cookies. The next loaf of bread was a $100 loaf of bread, etc.

But that didn’t last because I knew very well it was worth it! So worth it in fact, that I chose my kitchen paint color based on the mixer alone.

Other kitchen items I have found worth the cost per use – Cutco knives (with their lifetime warranty!), Revereware pots and pans and Oneida stainless steal.

What products do you splurge on because the value ends up being worth it?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    le crueset pots and shun knives. I swear, both are magical.

    I never use my kitchen aid.

    • October 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

      Oh yeah! I *need* a pea pot!

  2. Jeannine
    October 19, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I love your yellow kitchenaid! I can’t wait to get one when I have more room. Worth the money: good shoes, good pots and pans, good sheets.

  3. October 19, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    That’s not my exact color (mine is discontinued) but it’s incredibly close! I can’t wait to get new cabinets so I can brighten up my kitchen!

    I haven’t bought in to good sheets yet…

  4. October 19, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    my mother in law bought me a Kitchen Aid about 20 years ago as a birthday gift. I maintain *to this day* that it was THE BEST birthday gift I’ve ever gotten, EVER! I love it and can’t imagine life without it.

    a few years ago I asked for a collection of Le Creuset pots/pans, and those are huge too. LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE them. they’re heavy as hell but I’ll have them until I die.

    • October 19, 2010 at 5:29 pm

      If Charles ever proposes, I’m so putting le cusset on my registry (I can’t not edit)

  5. October 19, 2010 at 5:47 pm

    I love my Le Creuset and my KA mixer. I’ve gotten a ton of use out of my immersion blender too.

    The ice cream attachment for the KA mixer is life changing.

  6. eileen o'brien poole
    October 19, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    … for me – good shoes & good haircuts – i’ve improvised w/ much in between.

  1. December 16, 2010 at 11:33 am

Leave a Reply

