Home > Family > My favorite things…Cousins!

My favorite things…Cousins!

So, in response to my feedback on Friday, this week will begin a series of My Favorite Things. Sometimes in list form, sometimes not. (Thanks for the feedback, and let me know if you have more suggestions!)

Taking Jeannine’s suggestion, today’s blog will be about cousins. More specifically, second cousins once removed and third cousins.

As a kid, my first cousins either lived 5 miles away, or 500. It was an interesting dynamic with them. They were either as close as siblings (teaching me how to sneak out at night and knowing which bars I could get into before I was 21. Of course I never drank though! No!) or they were people I barely knew who, let’s be honest, seemed SO old to me as teenagers!

My second and third cousins were of a horse of a different color though. And they taught me many things about family and friends.

No matter if I saw them a month ago or 10 years ago, we were always able to pick right up where we left off. I think a true test of friendship (and great family!) is that no matter how far apart you live or what life seems to hand you, they will always answer the phone when you call, return an e-mail with kind words, and in a matter of moments decide to pick up and come see you if you need it.

When my father got sick, of corse the imediate family was there day in and day out to visit us and help us and keep our minds on happy things.

But it was the second and third cousins that swooped in unexpectedly to be there when Mom needed someone to scream at or a calm person to visit and laugh with. For months after Dad passed away there were visitors at least once a month (you’d think they’d planned it!) to give her something to look forward to.

It seems like with friends in life, if you don’t see them for a few years, it becomes harder and harder to make that call to get back in touch or decide to make that needed visit.

With cousins, the longer you go without seeing them, the easier and more necessary it seems to make that call or jump in the car (seriously, do any of us fly anywhere?)!

One of the things I probably love most about my grandfather (who I never met) is the relationship he had with his first cousins (who were like siblings…not unlike my own first cousins). Thanks to him, their children and grandchildren are much closer to me and not at all “removed” like their relationship states.

  1. eileen o'brien poole
    October 18, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    well said, cousin – well said!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

