Home > Life Lessons > Thanks to readers. My purpose…

Thanks to readers. My purpose…

I don’t think anyone starts a blog for a truly selfless purpose. They are (by their very nature) a selfish medium.

However if it weren’t for my readers and their feedback, I’m not sure if this blog would have lasted as long as it has and continued to be an (almost) daily exercise for me.

Starting this blog was one of several things I did for work; to improve my work.

In the two years since Dad’s diagnosis, writing lost it’s appeal for me. It became routine…something I had to do…something I was expected to do if I wanted to keep my bills paid.

I hit a major slump.

I didn’t take jobs in this field to do something routine. The thing I always claimed to love most about my jobs is how they’ve been ever changing and every challenging.

Writing completely lost that luster for me.

But I think that one thing that has helped me lately (and it has helped! Twice now my boss has mentioned I’m more my old self!) is the daily morning ritual of spewing whatever is on my mind or happening in my life.

I never expected to do this and be able to amass a following, but the more people I see and talk to who say they enjoy my writing, the more I’m encouraged to do it.

To tell the truth, I never really thought I was that great at what I did.

I got my first job on a whim. I sent a resume when there were no opennings…and when there was one, they called me.

Honestly, my grammar, editing and even spelling were so awful then I’m almost ashamed of it! But one of my editors once told me “You can teach a writer grammar, but you can’t necessarily teach a grammar expert how to write well.”

So I guessed I was a writer…

When I came to this job, my first story for the magazine was edited so thoroughly I could barely see the black type on the page. I wondered if I’d wasted the previous four years in a field where I didn’t belong.

But once that story was published, it became one of the most popular links on our magazine website. I should have known then, that I WAS a writer.

As much as I fight it and refuse to admit it, sometimes I see that gift. Usually it’s when I turn out a story in 15 or 20 minutes, or when I add that last amazing paragraph full of color and anecdotes with 10 minutes left until deadline.

But for now, I’d simply like to thank you, my readers, for your support and awesome feedback as I bounce back from my mind-numbing slump!

  1. gretchen
    October 14, 2010 at 11:44 am

    yay! i love reading your blog, mare bear. keep it up!

  2. October 15, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Glad you’re coming back!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

