Home > Uncategorized > So how about that dinner?

So how about that dinner?

So Saturday night was my “real” birthday dinner (although Morrison House on Tuesday was AMAZING as well!).

Charles wouldn’t tell me where we were going until I got there (and still didn’t know where I was…). We ended up at 2941 in Falls Church. I had never heard of it before, but I’m sure I’ll never forget it!

We got the tasting menu with wine parings (yum yum). It was perfect!

We started out with four amuse buche (at right): Chestnut mousse, tuna (with a tator tot hidden under it!), kobe tartar and a fried oyster (Charles somehow ended up with both of those. hrmmmm…)

I believe it was after this course that we were presented with the bread basket. I almost think the dinner was worth it for that alone! We had cherry and walnut baguette, chocolate baguette, plain french bread, and scone looking rolls full of olives and topped with salt. They were all wonderful! I had to fight myself from filling up on bread alone.

The second course was tuna sashimi with capers and more tartar topped with crunchy seaweed with a meyer lemon sauce on the side. It was yummy and went perfect with the light greek wine.

The following course was an intersting soup of lobster and gnocchi. The lobster was compressed and cooked, then sliced into “spaghetti.” Very intersting and VERY good! The gnocchi were perfect and pillowy, not dense at all.

The fish course was marlin (a very meaty fish!) stuffed with mushrooms and served with a molé. I don’t know if I’ve ever had molé, but it was awesome. Charles wasn’t a huge fan, but I didn’t expect he would be.

The meat dish was venison loin with a berry sauce, topped with spaetzel, with a side of stuffed cabbage. This may be one of the single best dishes I’ve ever had. I loved the huckleberry venison loin at Restaurant Eve too, but this one had potatos on top! How can you beat that?

Growing up I would have bet a million dollars I’d never be a fan of eating deer, but I have to say, when it’s cooked well (or, rather, rare), it’s absolutely delicious!

Around the time we finished the main course, we started smelling what we thought was popcorn.

And it was. The pastry chefs were making popcorn balls for the next day. I think that was a cruel trick to play on those of us sitting there. It smelled amazing and buttery.

Since it was my birthday, I got not one, but TWO desserts!! I have to admit I was pretty much over-stuffed by this point so I can’t for the life of me remember what on earth was in this pastry…but it was absolutely delicious and tasted like a fancy twix bar.

The “birthday” dessert was an apple turnover. Charles ate all the ice cream. I think I took one bite and was done.

One would think that this marked the end of a meal…but oh no!

Charles had commented to our sommelier how disappointed we were with the cheese course at Morrison House (one piece of cheese, no fruit, and a bready souffle that wasn’t that great).

So when we’re about to pay the check, three more wine glasses end up in front of each of us and guess what? We get a slate full of the stinkiest cheese I’ve ever tasted (some in a good way…some…not really).

I was barely able to touch it.

When we finally did get to leave, we were wished a good night by our hostess who also presented me with a loaf of the cherry walnut bread. YUM!

And that is the backstory to how we ended up with french toast on Monday night.

  1. eileen o'brien poole
    October 13, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    well – you little food critic you! the whole evening, and the meal sound so perfect – what a lovely & delicious surprise!

  2. Jeannine
    October 13, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    I think I’m full just READING this!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

