Home > Tasty Tuesday > Squash Hash

Squash Hash

Inspired by Healthy-Delicious, last night I finally made myself stop at the grocery store and made a REAL dinner!

Last week I had seen butternut squash on display outside Trader Joe’s, but I didn’t have a recipe in mind so I passed them by. Just a couple days later this recipe landed in my inbox. It was a sign!

I used Lauren’s recipe from last year because I liked the ingredients better (beer and bacon? what’s better?!).

Ingredients:
4 slices of bacon (1 oz each) (next time, I’d probably double this! More bacon more better as Charles would say!)
1/2 red onion, chopped
8 oz. of small red potatoes, diced
1 small butternut squash, diced
6 oz. of lite beer (I used Miller Lite)

Optional: poached eggs

I fried the bacon, draining off the grease, until crispy. Shred the bacon, then add the onion until it’s soft. Add the potatoes, squash and beer, cooking over medium heat until the veggies are softened and the beer has reduced.

Meanwhile, poach the eggs if you like (which I totally failed at. I forgot to grease my cups and they overcooked on the bottom and didn’t set on top. I’ll have to try that again!).

Serves 4 (slightly more than 1 cup a serving.

The nutritional info for this dish is approximately 160 calories, 3 grams of fat and 5 grams of fiber (that’s without the egg).

Including the eggs, my grocery bill came to about 2.56 a serving! And that’s with 10 eggs and 8 slices of bacon left over. A great deal if you ask me!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

