Home > Tasty Tuesday > Tasty Tuesday – Mom’s Stuffed Peppers

Tasty Tuesday – Mom’s Stuffed Peppers

I’ll admit it, as a kid, I HATED stuffed peppers. I think it was the mixture of peppers with beef (which I hated), but a few years ago I rediscovered this recipe of Mom’s and have loved making little changes to it to make it even better!

I already had a pound of ground beef on hand (in the form of free burgers from Omaha. I never order without a deal!). Last summer I experimented with using tomatoes instead of peppers so I did some of them again. I also added corn to the original recipe, and used provolone cheese to top the tomato ones. YUM!

Shopping list:
3 large peppers
3 large tomatoes (the bigger the better)
1 lb ground beef (turkey also works well since we’re adding a ton of moisture)
1/3 cup of onion (I omitted this because I found canned tomatoes with onions in them)
1 12 oz can of tomatoes (whole or diced, not pureed)
1/2 cup long grain rice

1/2 cup water
1 teasp. Worcestershire sauce
1 cup frozen corn
1 cup shredded cheese (or, I topped the tomatoes with thin sliced provolone)

I precook the peppers because otherwise, they don’t get nearly tender enough. I cut out the tops and cleaned them, then added them to a pot of salted water and let them come to a boil, boiling for 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, brown the beef (and onions if you use them). Season with salt and pepper. Add the tomatoes and juice from the can, 1/2 cup water and 1/2 cup long grain rice and the Worcestershire sauce. Stir and cover, simmering for about 15 minutes. I stirred in the corn at the last minute.

Clean the tomatoes and cut out the insides, set them and the cooked peppers upright in a baking dish. I added 1/2 cup of the beef mixture to the peppers, topped with cheese, then added the other 1/2 cup and topped with cheese again. The tomatoes only held a 1/2 cup, so I baked the rest of the mixture surrounding the tomatoes. I topped them with the provolone.

Bake at 350 for 10-15 minutes until the cheese melts.

I love this recipe because it has all the food in one easy dish…no worry for sides. However I found a good deal on a six pack of Jiffy corn bread mix, so I had my stuffed tomato with a corn muffin last night. yum!

The nutritional information is about 270 calories, 15 grams of fat and 2 grams of fiber.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

