Home > Tasty Tuesday > Easy Dinner – Thanks TJs! Gnocchi, sausage and peas. Oh My!

Easy Dinner – Thanks TJs! Gnocchi, sausage and peas. Oh My!

Tuesday night I wasn’t feeling all that great (which led to me being sick yesterday) so I was looking for a super simple dinner. When I made coffee that morning, I noticed I had gnocchi on hand. I’d had a craving for spaghetti, so close enough, right?

I had frozen a pack of chicken sausages from Trader Joe’s and always try to keep a can of tomatoes on hand.

I boiled the gnocchi (all of their pillowy goodness).

Meanwhile, I defrosted the sausages and threw them on the Forman Grill.

In a saucepan, I heated the tomatoes (which I sliced) and added some corn starch to thicken it a bit (tomato paste is better, but I don’t tend to remember to buy it often!). I added a tablespoon of basil and 1 cup frozen peas.

I’ve loved pasta with peas ever since the pasta bar in college. My go to was half red/half white sauce, with mushrooms and peas. Yum! How I managed to lose weight in college and not gain I’ll never really understand!

I topped the finished gnocchi with half a cup of sauce and a sliced sausage. And yum! A total comfort food dinner for about 300 calories, 7 grams of fat and 4 grams of fiber.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

