Home > Uncategorized > Clean out the fridge – Stir Fry Time!

Clean out the fridge – Stir Fry Time!

Last week I wanted to use up what was in my fridge so it wouldn’t be wasted. I had on hand  – cabbage, carrots, green onions, pea shoots and shrimp. Sounded like a decent stir fry to me!

Ingredients:
1/2 a small head of red cabbage, shredded
2 T balsamic vinegar (rice vinegar would be better, but I had balsamic on hand)
4 green onions
1/2 cup dry couscous, prepared as directed
6 oz. frozen cooked shrimp
1 cup frozen peas
2 T soy sauce
1 T lemon juice
pea shoots

I sauteed the cabbage and carrots in the vinegar in a non-stick skillet until they softened. Meanwhile, I cooked the couscous.

To the cabbage I added the onion, soy sauce and lemon juice. I defrosted the shrimp under running water, and stired them, the pea shoots and the couscous in before serving.

It was easy, it cost me no money and it was super colorful! I love a colorful dinner.

Nutritional info for this meal (serving 4) was about 140 calories, .5 gram of fat and 2.5 grams fiber.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

