Home > DIY, Family > A Look at Past Projects

A Look at Past Projects

Yesterday I rediscovered an archive of older projects I had saved in my picasa account. Since I haven’t actually finished anything since starting this blog, I thought I’d take a look back!

I *think* this was my first baby quilt. It’s made from a kit (it’s so much easier when someone tells you what size to cut everything!). I whipped it up in one evening before my old roommate’s baby shower. I couldn’t even guess how many of these I’ve made since then. They are the main reason my current cross stitch quilt was set aside…this is so much easier!

I used the pattern from that quilt to make this quilt, for Maire, my brother’s fifth kid. I used the flannel from the cute little outfit for the biggest pieces, and scraps I had on hand for the rest of it. Maire was born around Christmas, hence the red and green stars for the shirt.

When Payton was born (my sister’s fourth), I made him an outfit with the same pattern. They’re quite the baseball family!

The same year for Christmas, I made Mariah Strawberry Shortcake pajamas. I think they were a hit since she tried them on right away! (I made them a little big. I think they lasted her quite a while!)

And…the bigest project I’ve ever tackled…

Dad’s T-shirt quilt.

For years Dad saved all of his favorite t-shirts once they got super worn, but weren’t quite to the point of wearing out.

When he got sick, I took those shirts (plus shirts donated by family members) and finally got around to creating this quilt. It’s all shirts on the other side too!

Once I figured out the measurements, it was pretty easy going from there. The cutting is always what slows me down so much on projects! The actual sewing part is SO much easier!

You’ll notice Payton and Maire’s fabrics were reused in this quilt too.

And darn!! I *accidently* sewed that NY Yankees square on backward! 😉

Categories: DIY, Family Tags: , , , , , ,
  1. Jill
    August 19, 2010 at 9:00 am

    I was *just* looking for a pattern for a quick and easy baby quilt last night!! Do you still happen to have the pattern? Did you use batting and then quilt it?

    Love love love your blog 🙂 And not just because we’re cousins 🙂

    • August 19, 2010 at 9:04 am

      I probably still have the pattern somewhere at home, but I tend to buy the quilts at Jo Ann’s and AC More. It’s the same sort of kit as I used for Leo’s that I showed you.

      Since they’re made with a lot of flannel and plush fabrics, it’s not really necessary to use batting. I love them because of that, and that there’s no binding to sew on either! I just sew them up like a pillowcase and stitch in the ditch to quilt (except for Leo’s because I got so fed up with mom’s machine and ended up knotting it).

  2. Lara Allen
    August 20, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Hey Mary,
    Missed your blog today. Are you sick and unable to get to work? Do you need new subjects? Write about me. Of course everyone would think you were writing a novel.Who would believe it. You could also write about the Siler House-How Doug and Megan are getting it back to the original dwelling with thirteen children.

    Love you,
    Dee Dee

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

