Home > Home > The best part of home ownership

The best part of home ownership

So I bought my house about 11 months ago. It’s hard to believe almost a year has gone by!!

But hitting this point, I’m reminded of the best part of home ownership. After 11 months in an appartment or rental, I’d be hitting that mark where I have to wonder how much rent is going to go up (or I’ve already found out that horrible number)…will I have to move? Will my roommate sign another lease with me? Will I have to find a new roommate?

I think the best part of this scenario, is not having to track down 5 billion boxes to pack up my life and move on.

The next best part, thanks to a fixed rate mortgage, I’ll continue paying the same amount! For years! I don’t have to figure out where that extra $40 or $80 will come from when rents adjust.

But really…most of all, I love the feeling that my home is MINE! (and my grass is much greener this year!)

Categories: Home Tags: ,
  1. gretchen
    August 18, 2010 at 9:54 am

    i can’t believe it’s been almost a year, either. another perk: all those beautifully painted rooms!

  2. August 18, 2010 at 9:55 am

    I’m still touching up the bedrooms…but YES! Not a single white wall in the house!

  3. eileen o'brien poole
    August 18, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    … what i love – about your home – is how ‘homey’ it is! it’s as if you’ve been there forever, w/ all it’s personal statements … but, that’s how (your) mom & dad always were … sentimental things, pieces of family history, things to make us smile … it’s a gift, mary – enjoy the compliments! (i do think jeannine & emily have that similar trait … – i guess it’s a ‘connection’ to family & the past … i’ve enjoyed my own share of ‘sharing’!!) it’s wonderful that you’re enjoying your home. xxx000

  1. July 12, 2011 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

