Home > Thrifty Thursday > Our Mission to Fight Junk Mail…And preserve Postal Rates!

Our Mission to Fight Junk Mail…And preserve Postal Rates!

So, this was originally brought to my attention by my cousin Bob.

It seems that every week, I must be preapproved for $50K in loans. Do I have any interest in these? No. Do the constant letters drive me bonkers? Yes. I find them to be a huge waste of paper and resources.

But as the daughter of a postal worker, I LOVE mail. Not just receiving it you see, I love stuffing the mailbox knowing that by doing so, I am preserving the jobs of millions of people like my dad.

But the hikes in postage kill me.

These annoying pieces of mail I receive daily (yes, daily) usually include an annoying little envelope that, guess what? Is prepaid! So why not make use of them.

I love opening a whole batch of them, saving the envelopes, filling the envelopes with whatever other junk mail I have on hand (nothing with my name and address on it mind you) and putting them right back into circulation with the USPS.

It can’t be ignored that they make a TON of money off of these corporate accounts. And if they made more money by us using more of these pre-paid envelopes, maybe our private rates would stay lower? Who knows. But at least my recycling bin isn’t quite as heavy as it used to be!

Categories: Thrifty Thursday Tags: , ,
  1. Jillian
    August 10, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Wow, what a great idea!

    • August 10, 2010 at 9:05 am

      It’s oddly satisfying… 🙂

  2. Jeannine
    August 10, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I’m kinda into it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

