Home > Life Lessons > Life Lessons – Goldfish

Life Lessons – Goldfish

Nearly all of my childhood, my mother worked where I went to school. It was both good and bad…

One thing I always remember that was a constant in her clinic was a simple wooden plaque. It’s engraved: “In a world where all is water, who can tell when goldfish weep.”

I had no idea what this meant until I was an adult. And for the past couple of years, that plaque has hung in my office.

One thing I have always been a huge proponent of, is to leave the drama at home when I go to work. I rarely cry at work (I did when my grandmother died and in the weeks after my father died, but that’s all I can remember and it was always behind closed doors).

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with sharing your life with people you spend 40 hours a week with, but when it comes to getting work done, I push it all back (and hope those around me do so as not to cause major distractions).

But I’ve also learned over the years that stress and pain are incredibly relative. What I used to find so stressful and awful, now is for the most part very trivial (or,”just a thing” as a cousin would say).

In the workplace, we often don’t know what’s going on behind the scenes in people’s lives. It may be best to just treat everyone kind, just in case, under all this water, they are weeping and we don’t know.

  1. eileen o'brien poole
    August 5, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    … how true … the people in our lives are what matters most, anything else is “just a thing”!

    • August 5, 2010 at 1:54 pm

      exactly. I wonder where I got that saying from? 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

