Home > Tasty Tuesday > Tasty Tuesday – Chef’s Salad

Tasty Tuesday – Chef’s Salad

All ready for prep!

Summer nights usually call for something easy that doesn’t require cooking. I’ve been craving a good restaurant salad lately, so I thought I’d try to make something better than the usual bowl of lettuce with store-bought dressing.

Thanks Martha for the inspiration and the recipe for the dressing. At first I thought it was too vinegary, but an hour later when the Boyfriend arrived for dinner, it was wonderfully mixed and tasted wonderful.

I had to purchase most of the ingredients fresh, which is probably the way it should be with salads. All I had on hand currently was the vinegar.

My shopping list for Trader Joe’s was:

  • Light sour cream
  • Buttermilk
  • Lite Provolone
  • Sliced Herbed Turkey
  • Pea Shoots
  • Romaine Hearts
  • Whole Carrots
  • Baby Roma Tomatoes
  • Clover Honey

The total was about $24, so if I really made four servings, it would be only $6 per serving, but I think the recipe makes more like 5 or 6 (neither the Boyfriend or I could finish our giant bowls of salad last night. Funny how we both picked out all the good parts…the meat, cheese, tomatoes and carrots!)

The dressing was made with 1/3 cup sour cream, 1/3 cup buttermilk, 2 Tablespoons vinegar and 1 Tablespoon honey. I recommend letting it sit for a while to meld if possible.

Salad undressed. *GASP*

I used the whole bag of romaine hearts (three hearts); the whole container (10) of tomatoes, quartered; and made four carrots into matchsticks.

Again…WARNING…use the hand guard when using a mandolin slicer! I sliced not one, but two fingers last night. Luckily they weren’t *too* deep, but they still smart this morning!

I sliced 7 oz. of turkey and 4 oz. of provolone into long strips and layered everything on top of the salad, topping with pea shoots.

With the ingredients I used, the nutritional info came out to approx. 210 calories, 3.5 grams of fat, and 3 grams of fiber per serving (if you make 4). Not so bad for a really filling salad!

So now I have a carton of buttermilk to use up. What would you make with it?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

