Home > Tasty Tuesday > Stir-Fried Eggplant with Orzo

Stir-Fried Eggplant with Orzo

Yum Yum! And don't you love Aunt Ruth's tablecloth?

I’d call last night’s recipe revamp a success. I was able to make dinner using only the contents of my fridge (thanks to the leftovers from the caramelized fennel and pasta last week).  The only thing I would have done differently (if I had them) was add shiitake mushrooms. Yum!

Inspired by Everyday Food’s Stir-fry Noodles with Eggplant, I spun the recipe around and used the eggplant as the base for the stir-fry.

You might be noticing I love to chop things. Last night I used my Pampered Chef mandolin slicer to cut the eggplant into “noodles”. I would have done the same with the squash except I’d already cubed it to make storing it easier.

I had orzo on hand (it was on sale at Shoppers when I went last week) so I used it to act sort of like a rice in the stir-fry.

Since I omitted any oil (remember how I ran out last week?) I used a touch more soy sauce.

The final recipe:

All sliced and ready to go!

8 oz. of orzo, cooked as directed
4 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon light brown sugar
half an eggplant, julienned
half a squash, thinly sliced
half a small red onion, thinly sliced
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tablespoon dried basil

In a small bowl, combine soy sauce and brown sugar. Set aside.

Over medium high heat, heat a non-stick pan (I added olive oil spray). Cook onion, eggplant and squash until tender. Stir in garlic during the last minute.

Toss in orzo pasta and soy sauce, stir to combine. Top with basil and season with crushed black pepper to taste.

Even with the prep work involved, I finished the dish in less than 40 minutes.

And health-wise, the only WW points in the dish are in the pasta, and there are a ton of vegetables (and more could be added!).

It made about 4 servings that were a cup-and-a-half to two cups each.

Now for my safety warning!!!!!

I love my mandolin, but I admit I can get rather cocky with it. It’s easy to forget just how sharp the dang thing is! Last night, I lost the end of thumbnail and thankfully, just a layer or two of skin. So use that finger protector it comes with! Or else, don’t slice too fast!

And another note…I’ve given in and ordered a new camera battery charger so hopefully my photos here will be improving shortly.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

