Home > Tasty Tuesday > Pasta with Caramelized Fennel and Veggies

Pasta with Caramelized Fennel and Veggies

Lauren's picture is much prettier than mine! My final product picture didn't do it justice.

So I finally cooked this week. Last night I tackled Healthy-Delicious‘ Pasta with Caramelized Fennell and Summer Vegetables.

I was drawn to it because it wasn’t over-complicated and the ingredients were easy enough to buy this time of year. And strangely, I’ve sort of been craving fennel lately. Weird thing to crave if you ask me!

I had a lot of the staples on hand (pasta, olive oil, spices) and spent less than $14 picking up the veggies, cheese and pesto. $14 for four servings…not bad at all in my book!

I had about 6 oz. of Trader Joe’s Organic Vegetable Radiatore on hand so I used that (and with a tiny less pasta, lowered the Weight Watchers Points value of the meal by nearly two points. Thanks Lauren for posting the nutritional info on your recipes!).

Look at all those Veggies!

I’m a HUGE fan of veggies in pasta. Pasta with mushrooms and peas was one of my favorite meals in college (and the only thing I would change about this recipe is to add more peas!). And let’s face it, I love a great excuse to bring out the Cutco knives and practice my chopping and dicing skills!

With prep and cooking this recipe took an hour or less to prepare.

I’ll apologize now for my horrible quality photos that I’ll be posting until I find the charger for my camera battery. It’s awful that I moved nearly a year ago already and I still can’t find things!

Hopefully this weekend will be a much better weekend as far as staying on track with the healthy eating since I have three more HUGE servings of this dish waiting for me in the fridge.

Happy cooking everyone!

  1. July 23, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Yum. That pasta you used sounds great! And 2 points less?! I didn’t think it was that bad to begin with points-wise, but to be able to reduce it by 2 is huge!

    • July 23, 2010 at 11:13 am

      Yup!

      I liked the color it added a lot. And since it’s a bigger pasta, I didn’t have to chop as small.

      The only other change I made was that I used a TB and a half of oil because I ran out. And I added another clove of garlic because I don’t think you can ever have too much!

      • July 24, 2010 at 12:04 pm

        Less oil is probably fine… I should have noted that the pan I used wasn’t nonstick, so I needed to use a little extra. I want to see the picture of your final dish!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

