Home > DIY > DIY Day – Pillowcase Dresses

DIY Day – Pillowcase Dresses

Last week I mentioned that I’d gotten a new sewing book, Embroidered Effects.

While I just loved reading Hart’s explanations of things I learned to do so long ago (and validation that it WAS ok to tie knots), her ideas for what to sew were so fresh and fun ā€” or should I say, not geriatric.

I found a great how-to from Jen Leheny!

The first project she made me want to tackle is the Pillowcase Dress. With the three (maybe 4 in January) nieces I have and my cousins’ two little girls, I have plenty of reasons to try to make these darling little numbers. And I love thinking of how they’d look with brightly striped long-sleeve shirts and/or leggings under them!

I was already working on a pair of pillowcases that I loved for their bright colors…so I think some grown up might miss out on a handmade gift and maybe their little girl will get one instead? And I just can’t wait to go through my linen closet and see if I might have unmatched cases that I now have a use for!

I can’t wait to see the little girls in them.

What’s your latest DIY/sewing project?

Categories: DIY Tags: , ,
  1. July 27, 2010 at 11:41 am

    do you have the One Yard Wonders book? my friend brought it over on Sunday and I found a bunch of great projects in it, including a bunch of kids stuff, toys, and bags (all of which I know you like to make). I think it’s be a great purchase for you if you can find a good deal on the book!

  2. July 27, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Oh! thanks for the tip! I’ll have to add it to my wish list at half.com and see if I can get it for a good deal

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

