Home > Thrifty Thursday > Thrifty Thursday

Thrifty Thursday

My most recent sale. A book I reviewed 5 or 6 years ago.

So one of the goals going along with my new “responsible home owner” persona (or at least my quest to actually BE a responsible home owner) is to be debt free (except for maybe my mortgage and student loan) within the next two years.

But as a person whose worked for the Church for 8 years (and let’s face it, God doesn’t have deep pockets!) it’s been almost impossible to NOT live beyond my means.

Until I can figure out a plan where a second job might be doable…I’ve resorted to selling myself. No, not that way.

When I moved all my belongings into Boyfriend’s house before I found my house, I had one whole section of his basement that was labled “crap I don’t want/need/use.” This crap has sat there for almost a year because let’s face it…I didn’t even want to move it because it was so useless!

About a month ago I started going through it. I’m way too lazy and unmotivated for a yard sale, so what would I ever do with it?

I started with the books.

I googled to find a used book store, and Google suggested half.com. I’ve always been hesitant to try out ebay because if I’m too lazy to hold a yard sale, why would I want to take photos of everything I’m selling, figure out what shipping would be and what someone would actually pay for?

I clicked the link, and it was SO much easier than I expected. All I had to do was enter the ISBN number, they’d have a photo on file and tell me what the book had previously sold for in the condition I listed, and they’d reimburse me for shipping!

Score!

I figured I’d give it a go and if I didn’t sell anything in a month, what had I lost?

Really, how many more times do I need to rewatch Little House in my lifetime?

Well, I was surprised at the gains. Who would have thought that people would give me $100 in only a month for a pile of crap I didn’t want?

And once you get started, it’s almost addictive. When you know people will actually pay you for books you aren’t reading, those classics you never thought you could get rid of suddenly look so much more valuable if they’re listed for sale! And that box set of DVDs you bought 5 years ago and have watched maybe two times? Like Gold!

What are you doing these days for extra income?

Categories: Thrifty Thursday Tags: , ,
  1. Jamie
    July 23, 2010 at 10:00 am

    I cannot believe that you would part w/LHOTP

    • July 23, 2010 at 10:03 am

      Yes. It was hard but I did 🙂

      However, you’ll have to wrestle me to get your hands on Gilmore Girls and ESPECIALLY Punky Brewster!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

