Home > Thrifty Thursday, Uncategorized > Thrifty Thursday, Part Two

Thrifty Thursday, Part Two

I won’t normally post twice in one day, but this is just too odd to not discuss.

After hearing all the hype about Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover, I finally caved and bought it (along with another book I’d really been wanting from Border’s). With coupons and free shipping, I essentially got Dave’s book for free. Good investment, right?

I finally read it last night.

I found it quite disappointing. I don’t need to read a bunch of proverbs and anecdotes to realize that I shouldn’t be in debt and debt is a bad thing. I really was expecting a more “here’s what you do to fix it” sort of thing…not a “why you should fix it.” I know why…

So the one thing I got out of his book? I should sell his book on Half.com and use that money to pay down debt.

I listed it this morning, it sold at 2:30. Thanks Dave for that $13 profit.

(On the other hand, I think I will really save money with Jenny Hart’s Embroidered Effects! I have all sorts of plans for upcycling!)

  1. July 15, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    Thanks for that, I was debating on buying the book, now I’ll just start working at my debt like I’ve been doing.

    • July 15, 2010 at 3:54 pm

      I agree with his methods and think he has good ideas, but I found the book itself to be a total waste. There wasn’t anything “new” in it that I didn’t already know. Just save $1k, pay your small debts first, and snowball those payments into the larger ones.

      I don’t know what more I was expecting, but I wanted more…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

