Home > Family > Hug Your Father Day

Hug Your Father Day

Don and Dad

I’ve realized I’ve learned way too much about grief over the last two years. Things I’ve learned:

1. No one really understands the loss of a parent until they’ve experienced it themselves. They may try and/or think they do…but it’s just not possible

2. Grief isn’t so much about the person we lose, but about us being lost without them. They’re in a better place and yada yada yada…but that doesn’t make it easier for us to get by without missing them.

3. As sad I used to be for people who lost parents, since joining the Dead Dads Club…it breaks my heart a million times more. It’s probably one of the worst things in the world to watch someone slip away.

My heart broke yesterday for my cousins who lost their father…not much more than a year after I lost mine.

So in support of those of us who don’t have our father’s today…I’d love it if everyone else could give their dad a hug or a phone call so the fathers of the world won’t forget what they mean to their children.

Categories: Family Tags: , ,
  1. eileen o'brien poole
    July 14, 2010 at 4:43 pm

    even though i was 63 years old when my (precious!) papa passed away @ christmastime @ the age of 90 – i continue to miss him each day … mama has been gone for 20 years, and that still hurts … i believe the loss & the pain of that loss is because they cared, loved, shared, laughed, cried with all the love and support a parent should have. it is those who have never been as blessed (as my parents’ children) that i’ve learned to weep & prayer for. God bless all of you at this difficult time. we hold you in our hearts & prayers.

    • July 15, 2010 at 8:37 am

      I still miss your Papa too!

      It’s rare that I eat scrambled eggs for breakfast and don’t think of him in Suite 16 showing off his many pictures of all those people he was proudest of 🙂

  2. July 14, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    Hey,
    I just wanted to let you know that I thought your blog was very touching and like we do on the WW boards I’m giving you ((hugs)). It takes a lot of courage to express yourself to a stranger and I appreciate it. Posts like this make me remember those I have lost and cherish the ones I still have! Thanks 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

